Museum ,  Archaeology ,  Prehistory at Aurignac

Musee-Aurignacien-2-A Ferreira
Musee-Aurignacien-A Ferreira
92110-20190211---Musee-Aurignacien-2019-OK-46-6720x4480A.FERREIRA CD 31
  • Discovered by chance in 1852 by a quarry worker from Aurignac,the prehistoric rock shelter of Aurignac contained skeletons and the teeth of large mammals. It was the paleontologist Édouard Lartet who uncovered a large quantity of archeological material from 1860 onwards: worked flints, reindeer antler worked by Man, the remains of a hearth, bones of extinct animals such as mammoths, woolly rhinos, huge cave bears… Belonging to the Départemental Council, this museum-cum-forum bears witness to this presence and to the first materials culture of modern Man, between -38 000 and -28 000 before our era. Dating from prehistory to the present, Aurignac possesses an extraordinary heritage. Do explore the narrow lanes of the village, the ruins of the Counts’ castle and the magnificent view from the keep.
  • Access
    • Airport/airfield  :  Toulouse-Blagnac at 80 km
    • Motorway  :  A64 sortie 21 at 10 km
    • Railway station  :  Boussens at 10 km
  • Environment
    • In the country  :  Comminges
    • Near a motorway  :  A64 at 10 km
    • Ski resort  :  Le Mourtis at 80 km
    • Ski resort  :  Luchon-Superbagnères at 80 km
  • Tourism and handicap
  • Equipment
    • Picnic area
    • Screening room
    • Equipped seminar room
    • Tea Room
  • Services
    • Free visit on request
    • Guided tour on request
    • Boutique
    • Play area
Payment methods
  • Carte Bleue/Credit card
  • Debit cards
  • Cheques and giro cheques
  • Cash
  • Rates
  • Adult
  • Child rate
  • Large family rate